

Multimodal Sustainable Transport: which role for the internalisation of external costs?

Monday 17 December 2018, Albert Borschette Congress Center, room 0A Brussels

Timing	Agenda item
9:00	Registration and coffee
10:00	 The internalisation of external costs and the future of multi-modal transport – getting the facts right Mr Matthew Baldwin, deputy Director-General, DG MOVE, European Commission
10.30	 Opening address Mrs Violeta Bulc, EU Commissioner for Transport
10:45	 First insights and initial results of the study "Sustainable Transport Infrastructure Charging and Internalisation of Transport Externalities" - followed by Q&A Mr Huib Van Essen, CE Delft & consortium leader
11:15	Coffee Break
11:45	Panel discussion: Getting the price right for transport: the perspective and experiences of different transport modes - rail and road
	 Moderator: Ms Elisabeth Werner, Director Land, DG MOVE, European Commission (tbc)
	Mr Matthias Maedge, IRU, General Delegate
	Mr Libor Lochman, CER, General Director
	Mr Kallistratos Dionelis, ASECAP, Secretary General
	Mr Ralf-Charley Schultze, UIRR, President
	Miss Julia Lamb, ERFA, Secretary General
13:00	Lunch Break
	A buffet-lunch is offered by the European Commission

Timing	Agenda item
14:15	Panel discussion: Getting the price right for transport: the perspective and experiences of different transport modes - aviation and waterborne
	 Moderator: Ms Magda Kopczynska, Director Waterborne, DG MOVE, European Commission
	 Chris Gadsen, Head of Regulation at EasyJet (A4E)
	Mr Martin Dorsman; ECSA, Secretary General
	Mr Olivier Jankovec, ACI, Secretary General
	Mr Nicolas Bour, INE, Vice Chair
	Ms Isabelle Ryckbost, ESPO, Secretary General
15:30	Coffee Break
16:00	Panel discussion: External and infrastructure costs and the user- and polluter pays principle – which lessons for the future?
	 Moderator: Per Haugaard, Director Policy Coordination, DG MOVE, European Commission
	Ms Karen Vancluysen, Polis, Secretary General
	Ms Celine Cluzel, Element Energy, Director (ECF)
	• Mr Roger Kesteloot, CEO, De Ljin (member of UITP)
	Mr Olivier Lenz, FIA, Programmes director
	• Mr Michael Svane, BusinessEurope, chair of transport WG
17:15	Closing remarks and next steps
	 Mrs Maja Bakran, deputy Director-General, DG MOVE, European Commission